Galbijjim (3 Ways)

Galbijjim is a very popular Korean braised short ribs dish known for its combination of salty and sweet, infused in falling off the bone short ribs. I usually reserve this recipe for the most special of occasions, like Christmas, but it is perfect for the winter months when you want something warm and hearty to fill your belly and your home.

galbijjim

The first time I tried this dish, Sam and I were only dating.  I was over at his house for the holidays, and his mom came out with a beautifully presented plate of braised short ribs. The smell was so heavenly, I almost started drooling right then and there. Not the kind of impression you want to leave your future mother-in-law!

In the coming weeks, I tried every attempt to replicate the recipe. I scoured the interwebs, and seriously tried every recipe out there at the time. For weeks on end, I made Mr. Heels try each of my creations (not that he minded in the least). The recipes weren’t bad, but they weren’t as good as my mother-in-law’s! Finally, I got around to asking my mother-in-law, and we spent some time in the kitchen making it together. The way she breaks it down is so much simpler than the other versions I tried, and tastier too.

Now before I go any further with the recipe, I just want to say that it looks a little overwhelming (at least it did to me at first!), but it’s really not!  I’ll tell you why.  All you’re really doing is blending all the ingredients I listed in Part A together, then pouring it over the galbi, and letting it boil for a long time over low heat until the meat becomes soft and tender.  That’s all there really is to it!

I’ve made this recipe 3 different ways now.  The most straightforward way is the stovetop-only way, but if you want really fall-off-the-bone short ribs, it is best to use a crockpot or pressure cooker. My mother-in-law uses an old-fashioned pressure cooker for her recipe, but for the longest time I didn’t own one (and was deathly afraid of it exploding in my face). Thus, I created the crockpot method through trial and error using her recipe as a base. Now that I own an electric pressure cooker of my very own, I created pressure cooker directions based off some experimentation. All three methods requires the stovetop because you want to reduce the sauce at the end.  Now enough talking, let’s get cooking!!…

I N G R E D I E N T S

– 2-3 lbs galbi (bone-in short ribs)

Part A:
– 1/2 cup Mirin

Part B:
– 1 apple or asian pear
– 1 whole onion, roughly chopped
– 2/3 cup soy sauce
– 1/2 cup brown sugar
– 2 Tbsp garlic
– 1/2 tsp ginger
– 1 tsp pepper

Part C:
– 1 potato, cut into 1 inch cubes
– 2 carrots, cut into 1 inch chunks
– 10 shiitake mushrooms, sliced

Part D:
– 2 Tbsp Honey (to drizzle)
– Jujubes, sliced thin (optional)
– Green onions, sliced (optional)

D I R E C T I O N S

Stovetop Version: 
1. Cut galbi, trim the fat, and soak it in water (about 20 min) to drain the blood. Dump the bloody water.
2. (Part A) – In pot, add 2 cups water and ½ cup mirin. Add galbi and boil 1 hour over medium heat (covered).
3. While waiting for galbi to boil, blend all ingredients (from Part B) in a blender. Skim fat off from the pot of galbi boiled in mirin & water, then add blended ingredients to pot with galbi.
4. Boil for another hour with the carrots and other veggies over medium heat. Take cover off the last 30 minutes to let the sauce evaporate and thicken.
5. Drizzle 2 Tbsp of honey and boil for 5 more minutes. Then put on plate and add chopped jujubes.

Electric Pressure Cooker + Stovetop Version:
1. Cut galbi, trim the fat, and soak it in water (about 20 min) to drain the blood. Dump the bloody water.
2. Place galbi in pressure cooker.
3. (Part A & B) – Blend together ingredients in Parts A & B.
4. Pour blended ingredients over the galbi in the pressure cooker.
5. Cook on high pressure for 30 minutes (with natural release), or 40 minutes (with quick release).
6. (Part C) – Peel and cut potato, carrots, and shiitake mushrooms while you wait for the pressure cooker to finish cooking.
7. Once pressure cooker is done, take the meat out and place it in a dutch oven (or any pot) on the stovetop, then add the prepped veggies.
8. Drain the fat from the sauce (either from skimming from the top or using a fat separator), then pour sauce over the galbi on the stovetop.
9. Cook uncovered on the stovetop (on medium-low) until veggies are cooked through and sauce is reduced.
10. Drizzle honey on top (gives it its sheen but you don’t have to), top it with the sliced jujubes, and serve.

Crockpot + Stovetop Version:
1. Cut galbi, trim the fat, and soak it in water (about 20 min) to drain the blood. Dump the bloody water.
2. Place galbi in crockpot.
3. (Part A & B) – Blend together ingredients in Parts A & B.
4. Pour blended ingredients over the galbi in the crockpot.
5. Cook in crockpot for 5 hours on low.
6. (Part C) – Peel and cut potato, carrots, and shiitake mushrooms while you wait for the crockpot to finish cooking.
7. Once crockpot is done, take the meat out and place it in a dutch oven (or any pot) on the stovetop, then add the prepped veggies.
8. Drain the fat from the sauce (either from skimming from the top or using a fat separator), then pour sauce over the galbi on the stovetop.
9. Cook uncovered on the stovetop (on medium-low) until veggies are cooked through and sauce is reduced.
10. Drizzle honey on top (gives it its sheen but you don’t have to), top it with the sliced jujubes, and serve.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

