Jaren’s 17 Month Update

Jaren is 17 months already!  I’ve long stopped counting weeks, and I’m even losing track of months now.  He’ll be 2 before I know it!  I already can’t believe it’s mid-2014. I feel like we just started the year, where did the time go? I used to think people were crazy when they told me that time was going to fly by and that one day I’d miss this, but now I get it. I get it completely.

chin_family_077

His last pediatrician’s appointment was at 15 months, and his stats at that time were:

Height: 32.75 inches (80th percentile)
Weight: 26 lbs 5 oz (75th percentile)
Head circumference: 19 inches (80th percentile)
Teeth: 14 now! In various stages of sprouting! He’s had 7 teeth for awhile, and then all of a sudden he was teething 7 more and they’ve finally all sprouted. His canines, incisors, and a couple others. Needless to say, we were in a bit of teething hell the last few months.

He is a pretty big boy, but he still feels like such a baby to me even though he’s technically a walking, (semi) talking toddler now. He started out-of-home daycare at 16 months, and I was so worried… but he did great, and stopped crying at drop off after 3 days. He even napped for 3 hours the first day he was there. I’m so relieved that he’s thriving there even though he’s the youngest in his class.

Personality

He continues to be such a vivacious, happy, and extremely affectionate little guy! I have started calling him “my cuddle Jare” (a play on his name to rhyme with Bear) because he just loves to go over and cuddle anything and everything. He’ll often walk over to my lap and just lay his head there with a huge grin on his face. He does it to his sister, the dogs, our stairs, his stuffed bear, our pillows, and anything else that’s soft and cuddly – he does not discriminate between real or inanimate objects!

photo-22

My cuddle Jare strikes again!

Communication

He is really good at letting us know what he wants. He will scream and shout and grunt to get our attention, use sign language (he knows milk, water, more, and all done), point, or drag me by the hand to his desired destination. He knows a handful of words… right now I’ve counted 8 – mama, dada, more, llama, book, hi, bye, and poo-poo (gotta love this last one). He can nod his head yes, shake his head no, and his receptive language seems pretty solid.  Whenever I ask for kisses, he almost always obliges, and gives me the biggest, slobberiest (yes, I just made this word up right now) open-mouthed kisses in the world.  I love it!

Sleep

He is a great sleeper. He naps well, and takes one long 3-hour nap a day. He usually naps from 12-3 pm, but we can push it later if needed. He gets about 11-11.5 hours of night sleep. We usually put him down around 7-7:30 pm, and he wakes up like clockwork by 6:30 am every single morning. I guess we’re just destined to have early risers. He has only “slept in” til 7 am about once in his little life. Maybe one day…

He is pretty flexible and adaptable overall, and will fall asleep anywhere when he’s tired.  There have been times when I think we’re going to be met with a cranky baby because we’ve been out too long, but instead we find him dead asleep in the stroller.  This works out for us since we have his much more awake and alert older sibling to entertain as well.

Food

He loves to eat, and refuses to let me feed him. Sometimes I want to because you do not want to see the disaster that is Jaren after he eats a bowl of rice. I’ve been offering him utensils for awhile, and he’s slowly learning how to use them. He still likes to scoop up food with his hands most of the time though. His favorite foods are berries (of all kinds), all fruit, chicken apple sausages, kale smoothies, bread, rice, and noodles. He has been picky about vegetables ever since he hit one, and is not a fan of eggs (gah!).

eating

Disaster zone

Play

This little guy loves shoes!  He is always carrying one of his shoes all around the house, so I constantly have to hunt down the missing pair before we head out.  He enjoys stacking blocks, and doing anything that requires sticking one object through another (like shape sorters or stacking cups).  He also gets a huge kick out of playing peek-a-boo… it’s so much fun seeing his lil’ head pop in and out of objects!  Oh, and don’t forget to raise your palm and ask for a high five because he’ll high five you right back!

chin_family_064

Peek-a-boo!

He loves books too! He is always bringing them to me, one after another… but I can never read the words fast enough for him so he’s always flipping ahead of me. Finishing a book with him can be a challenge. His favorite book is Llama Llama Red Pajama.  ”Llama” is one of the few words he knows so far too!

Oh, and don’t get me started on the booty shaking that goes on around here. This guy has some serious junk in his trunk, and he likes to “shake it shake it shake it.” Any time music comes on, or if we chant “shake that booty, shake it!” he will bounce up and down and dance his lil’ happy butt off.

art

He loves to follow his sister around, and imitate whatever she’s doing!

.  .  .  .  .

He brings so much laughter and joy into our home.  I have loved “getting to know” my son these past 17 months, and can’t wait to see how he continues to grow in the coming ones!  I love you so much, my sweet Cuddle Jare.

One thought on “Jaren’s 17 Month Update

Leave a Reply

