11 Month Update

J-Jan-004

This month has probably been the most challenging one for us yet!  He was really dependent on me most of the month, and always wanted to be held.  He didn’t like to be alone at all, and didn’t like others holding him either. He just wanted mama!  I was surprised to find myself not minding it much.  Maybe it’s because he’s my 2nd, maybe because I wasn’t as focused on it since I also had my hands full with Noelle, or maybe because normally he’d rather be off on his own than in my arms… whatever the reason, I found myself welcoming the extra snuggles and soaked them up as much as I could.

set5

Milestones/Development
– Pulling up to standing
– Cruising everywhere
– Crawling on his knees (but he still likes to army crawl too)
– Giving high fives
– Sitting up unassisted for long periods
– Can go from sitting to crawling, back up to sitting, then to standing. A lot more control over his movements.

 set3

Firsts
– First fever! We logged a 102.4 fever – poor guy.
– First time sleeping 13 hours straight! This was one of those days when he didn’t have two solid naps, but just had one longer nap in the middle of the day. He then slept all night from 7:30 pm – 8:30 am! It felt amaaaaaziiing to “sleep in” for once.
– First time taking a bath with his sister.

Eating
He is such a big, good eater.  However, this month, I noticed that he’s starting to have preferences instead of just putting anything and everything in his mouth.  Half the green beans I give him will end up on the floor!  He also notices if I give his big sister something and will yell for some too if he doesn’t get any. This happens most when we’re at Costco and I’m letting Noelle try samples that I don’t feel comfortable with him trying yet… so he knows when he’s getting shafted!

He’s still breastfeeding 4x a day. I’m trying to wean him, but it’s been unsuccessful because he only drinks 2-3 ounces when given breastmilk in a straw cup or bottle, so I worry that he’s not getting enough and resort to nursing. He’d much rather get it from the source. It’s a bittersweet feeling knowing that our nursing times together will come to an end soon, plus he’s my baby (and possibly my last!).

set2

Sleep
He is still on 2 naps a day, usually his first one is from 10-11:30 am, and his 2nd one is 2:30-4 pm… but I’m seeing signs of him fighting that morning nap.  I have a feeling he’ll drop his first nap much sooner than his sister (she went to one nap at 20 months).  I’m looking forward to it because that means we’ll get to do more things together as a family in the mornings without trying to schedule things around his nap. He’s a pretty flexible guy though, and on church days we’ll take him to church and he’ll be fine napping in his stroller.

Activities/Play
He loves to get pushed around in the Step2 Buggy and stroll around the neighborhood, his musical table is his favorite toy, and his favorite books are all his lift-the-flap books, particularly Where is Baby’s Belly Button. He gets a kick out of playing peek-a-boo and hide-and-go-seek.  I pretend I’m chasing after him sometimes and he crawls as fast as he can away from me, giggling the whole way!  He also goes crazy over hiding in the tent.  He loves to drum on things with his hands too – it looks like my lil’ guy has some rhythm! Every once in awhile I’ll catch him swaying to the music and cracking himself up.  He is so silly and fun!

set4

At 11 months, he was the crankiest I’d ever seen him due to teething, sickness, a heightened sense of separation anxiety, and just general development – he seemed to be learning so much and learned quite a few new skills!  I’d be drained and moody too if I were him!  But right as he hit 11 months it seems like a lot of that went away and he went back to his old, independent self.  He is once again comfortable being held by others, prefers to crawl away and explore the world away rather than be in mama’s arms, and is just happy-go-lucky most of the time.  I’m so in love with my lil’ dude and am starting to get a little sad as he approaches his first birthday.  They really do grow so fast…

J-11months (jan)

2 thoughts on “11 Month Update

    • It’s never too late! I documented Noelle until she turned 3… but I think with J I’m only going to document his BIG milestones from now on… 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3…

Leave a Reply

