Celebrating 4 Years

After 4 years and 2 kids, I have never been more certain that you were meant for me. Best friends really do make the best husbands and fathers! Happy 4 years, Sam Chin!! – This was my FB status on our anniversary this year, and he is all of this and more.

On the actual day of our 4th year anniversary (November 14th, 2013), we took the day off to celebrate since it’s harder for us to go out now that we have two kids.  It was easier when we had one because my mother-in-law could handle one on her own, but there’s no way she can take on two.

For our day date, we started out by getting deep tissue massages at Spa Gregorie’s, had lunch at Kula Sushi, watched About Time (loved it!!  Rachel McAdams is my girl crush and his girl crush too… so it all worked out hehe), then it was already time to pick up our oldest from preschool.  The day went by too fast!

A couple weeks later, we got to truly celebrate our anniversary with an overnight stay at The St. Regis in Dana Point.  My sister-in-law came down for the entire month of December so it was the perfect opportunity to get away.  My MIL and SIL were both able to watch our kids and do the whole divide and conquer thing.  This was our first overnighter since our anniversary the year before, so we were really excited about it.  All we really wanted to do was sleep in with no interruptions… and sleep in we did.

We planned it for a Sunday to Monday.  We left the house at 2 pm when the kids were fast asleep for their afternoon naps.  We checked in around 3 pm, relaxed at the hotel, then went down for a 6 pm dinner at Michael Mina’s Stonehill Tavern (located onsite at the St. Regis).  We fell asleep at 10 pm that night, and umm… didn’t wake up til 10 am the next day (12 hours!!!).  We requested a late checkout so we were able to squeeze in some gym time, and eat lunch at Motif (also onsite) before packing up our things to leave.

It was a short trip, but we enjoyed every moment.  Stonehill Tavern is one of the best restaurants we’ve been to in a long time.  It overlooked the ocean, and there happened to be a tree lighting ceremony that day so everything was terribly romantic and festive.

2013-12-01 17.42.01

photo-7

Staying in a hotel and sleeping sounds pretty boring, but for parents like us… it was the perfect escape.  One night away was enough for us though, by the time it was over we were rushing home to our kids – we missed them dearly!

I couldn’t have asked for a better husband, father, and friend to share this life with.  4 years and I’m still learning new things every day.  I still look at him with love, admiration, respect, and gratitude.  He is the father of my children, and the love of my life.  Blessed doesn’t even begin to describe what I feel.

5 thoughts on “Celebrating 4 Years

  1. Glad I stumbled upon you! I’m a fellow California gal as well :). My family and I are originally from the OC and moved to Santa Barbara just a few short months ago. So reading this post made me miss home :(. Looking forward to following your journeys!

  2. You happen to comment on my friend’s blog, Vivian (I believe it is joiedeviv.blogspot; once diamondsandtulle) and your comment linked back to your website. Are you friend’s with her too or just admired her blog?

      • You know I have heard about the name and but I know nothing about it. I just went to the site and requested an invite to join! Tell me, is there an OC group? Times like this, it makes me wish we were still in the OC…we just moved to SB 4-5 months ago. But the OC is home to me :). If you do catch up with Viv, you’ll love her! She’s one of my closest friends! Are you on IG…let’s connect there. I’m @sincerelykymberly 🙂

Leave a Reply

