Thanksgiving 2013

Most years, we’ll have two Thanksgiving meals – one with my in-laws and another with my side of the family.  However, with two kiddos to manage, this year we decided to host and invite both sides of the family to celebrate with us.

On the menu:

  • Turkey
  • Dressing (aka Stuffing outside the bird)
  • Creamed corn
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Cauliflower puree
  • Butternut squash soup
  • Tomato and mozzarella salad
  • Gravy and cranberry sauce
  • Cornbread muffins
  • Kalbi (Korean short ribs)
  • Chapchae (Korean glass noodles)
  • Pies from Marie Callendar’s

It was a lot of food for only 8 adults, 1 toddler, and 1 baby, but leftovers are one of the best things about Thanksgiving dinner!  This year I decided to try out Alton Brown’s brine and roast turkey recipe, and the result was amazing – it is a keeper for sure!

alton_brown_turkey

thanksgiving_spread

I really do enjoy hosting and cooking for the holidays – it makes the house feel so festive and come alive!  Because I didn’t come from a family that held these traditions dear, it means a lot to me to create my own with family in mind.  There was a time when I hated Thanksgiving… pre-marriage and pre-kids I called it “the loneliest time of year”.  For those who don’t have a tight knit family, or difficult family dynamics… it really is a lonely time…

Leave a Reply

