Fall Family Photoshoot 2013

After years of putting off a family photoshoot, we finally bit the bullet and did it.  I’ve been wanting one for awhile now, especially since it’s so hard to get a family photo with all of us in it.  It was hard enough with one kid, but with two kids and both our hands full… it was nearly impossible!  Now that we are a family of four, I couldn’t think of a better time to do it.

Originally, this was supposed to be a 9 month shoot for J.  Then I realized that around the 9 month mark, it was going to be close to the holidays anyway… so why not sneak in some family pics while we’re at it and get some photos for our annual holiday card?  I decided to go with an up and coming photographer that was an Art major at UCI.  Her portfolio is fantastic, and her prices were incredibly reasonable.

I definitely wanted us to look coordinated and pulled together for the shoot without losing our sense of self, which meant our “look” still had to reflect who we were (comfy casual).  When I think of Autumn, I immediately think of deep reds, burnt oranges, fiery yellows, and rich browns.  I knew immediately that I wanted our look to center around a mustard yellow, so I tried to incorporate bits of yellow in each of our outfits.  We already owned a yellow sweatervest for Jaren, I had some yellow corduroys, and I stumbled upon the perfect dress for Noelle.  Even with these central pieces, I wasn’t sure I could pull off a coordinated look, so I created an inspiration board through Polyvore and went from there to fill in the gaps.

Screen Shot 2013-12-03 at 12.20.11 AM

This is what we ended up with:

42

The outfits weren’t exactly how I planned it, but I was still pretty happy with the outcome.  I’m not the trendiest person on the planet (and that’s an understatement), so I’m glad everything worked out.

10

12

the handsome men in my life

14

Having too much fun running wild at the park

16

Jaren can’t sit up for long periods yet so he’s about to topple over!

17

She loves making this silly face!

20

One reason we held off on a photoshoot for so long was because Noelle is shy and introverted.  For the longest time, she would not smile on command and wanted nothing to do with strangers.  I could not imagine her hamming it up for some unknown photographer.  In the last 6 months, however, she has really blossomed and come out of her shell.  She still veers towards the shy side, but she’s definitely become a lot more fearless with others compared to before.  I’m glad I waited it out until she was ready for an event like this.

21

28

27

31

fall_photoshoot_AN

40

44

I was nervous waiting for these photos because the day of the shoot, I wasn’t sure we captured any great pictures.  Actually, it was somewhat stressful trying to man two kids and getting them to smile and look into the camera while also being conscious of how we presented ourselves!  I had to remind myself that the photographer is snapping away so much that out of the hundreds that were shot, there were bound to be a handful of good ones.

Photographer: Felicia Cheng Photography

4 thoughts on “Fall Family Photoshoot 2013

  1. These are sooooo cute!! I love everything about them! The clothes, the lighting, the FALL BACKGROUND (!) and how it captures your guys’ souls and playful hearts. I actually really like the ages that you got these photos — not too young but young enough to look back fondly one day for everyone! Good job Ange!!!!

Leave a Reply

