7 Month and 33 Month Update

I am soooo behind on this update…

This month has been really good to us.  Everything’s been peaceful, no one’s been ill, the kids are both sleeping through the night (for the most part), and I am finding my footing again.  Last month was tough on me, so I’m grateful for this reprieve before the next storm hits.  That’s just it with parenthood isn’t it?  Ebbs and flows, highs and lows…

JAREN

J-Sept-006

J-Sept-002

Milestones: Lots this month!
– Sitting up longer and longer without assistance.
– Pulling up on things all the time, especially his crib.
– Army crawling like a boss.
– Blowing raspberries ALL.THE.TIME.
– His top two middle teeth came out, so now he has a total of 4 teeth!

J-Sept-005

J-Sept-003

Firsts:
– First time on a bucket swing.
– First time swimming in a pool.
– First time going to the pumpkin patch.
– First time going on a wagon ride.
– First time trying puffs.

Solids: He eats a combination of purees + BLW, and gets 2 meals a day (lunch and dinner). I’m kinda loosey goosey with my solids approach, so I’ll feed him both purees and actual, grabbable food in the same meal.  That way, he can play around and practice grabbing his food from table to mouth, but it also gives me a chance to eat while he plays with his food. For purees, he’s had green beans, peas, bananas, sweet potatoes, italian squash, kabocha squash, avocado, cauliflower, and broccoli. For BLW, he’s had dumplings, bananas, cucumbers, avocados, sweet potatoes, apple slices, mum mum’s, and puffs.

Sleep: On most nights, he slept from 7:30pm to 5:30 or 6:30 am. His naps have consolidated and he takes 2 naps a day. Usually his first nap is 1.5 hours long, and his afternoon nap is anywhere from 1.5-2.5 hours long.

He is so much fun, and so different from my daughter in every way possible.  He is super physical, always wants to be on the go, not quite the cuddly little baby my daughter was, and very independent.  He is happy, easygoing, and nothing seems to phase him.  They are so different, but I love them both with equal intensity!

J-Sept-MonthlyPic

NOELLE

Since her development is a lot more subtle now that she’s nearing the age of 3, I thought I’d start sharing her likes/dislikes from month to month since toddlers truly are as fickle as they say!

N-Sept-001

Likes… Egg and cheese omelets, Aidell’s chicken sausage, bananas, apples, grapes, kabocha squash soup, plain oatmeal, mac ‘n cheese, and tofu soup.  Also a huge fan of play-doh, magnatiles, building blocks of all kinds, balls, balloons, sliding down big twisty slides, jump houses, swings, the song 12 Little Monkeys, and the book I’m a Big Sister!

Dislikes… Chicken nuggets, anything green (to my dismay!), most proteins (chicken, beef, pork, lamb), and she scares easily (she really doesn’t like seeing faces on inanimate objects – gotta keep her away from images of Thomas the Train and those Veggie Tale characters!).

What else can I say?  Well, she usually wakes up between 6:30-7 am, and sleeps by 8:30 pm.  She is still on a 1-nap schedule, and on weekends her naps typically run from 1-3 pm, which is perfect because it coincides with Jaren’s 2nd nap of the day.

She is sooo sweet, affectionate, thoughtful, and good about sharing.  She likes to tattletale on her younger brother: “Mommy, Jaren is eating my blue bear!”, and acts concerned when he’s in tears, “Don’t cry Jaren… don’t cry”.

JN-Sept-004

She acts like a little adult sometimes, like when we forget to cover our mouths when we sneeze, “Mama, cover your mouth!  Like this [as she demonstrates how to cover your mouth]”.  Her favorite phrase these days is, “Stop it!  I don’t like it!” – she’s actually great at expressing her thoughts so it’s been fun learning to negotiate and reason with my mini-wannabe-adult.  When I’m sad or upset, she always says, “I’ll make you happy!” and gives me a huuuge grin.

NJ-Sept-005

When she does something wrong, she is so quick to apologize.  Even when I’m the one feeling guilty for being too harsh on her, she comes over, gives me a big hug and says, “I’m sorry mama…”.  All is forgotten in an instant; that’s toddlerhood for you.  As fickle as they are, in some ways, I’m grateful for it because it means the times where I’ve failed her are quickly washed away too.  I sense her unconditional love for me on a daily basis, even when I don’t think I deserve it.

The 2’s have been good to us, a little too good… making me deathly afraid as we head into the 3’s.  As much as I enjoyed the cuddly baby stage, I’m finding myself even more in love with the toddler stage.  I laugh every day because the things that come out of my little girl’s mouth is un-freakin-real sometimes.

SIBLING LOVE

She loves to be by her baby brother, and tries hard to entertain him.  It works in our favor because Jaren is a super smiley baby that smiles at just about anything and anyone.  It’s not all fun and games with these two though.  We do have to pull them away from each other at times, especially now that Jaren is always on the move and eating everything in sight.  She complains that, “Jaren is eating my XYZ!!!!” and starts screaming for him to “stop it!”.  I’m also afraid that if I leave her alone with him too long that he’ll get smacked, smushed, or sat on.  Gotta keep an eye out at all times now!

JN-Sept-001

JN-Sept-002

My babies light up my life, and I’m really looking forward to celebrating the holiday season with two!   Decorating, Christmas trees, Thanksgiving feasts, and Halloween treats have taken on a whole new meaning with kids.

5 thoughts on “7 Month and 33 Month Update

  1. Hi mama!
    Oh, you make me 😦 when you say you don’t deserve Noelle’s unconditional love. Of course you do! I know she will be as loving and strong as you when she gets older. I guess how scary it might feel that her love shows at such a young age. ❤
    And Jaren's rolls…oh my!! 😀 Love his rolls!!

  2. Hi! Just found your blog from clicking around from who knows where. Love that you are documenting your kids lives now before you forget! I have a girl and boy with similar age differences to yours, and now when I look back, I can’t really remember my daughter as a 3 yr old. The entire year is just kind of a blur of sleep deprivation (my son was *much* fussier than my daughter to my dismay!)

Leave a Reply

