We pull back when we should be leaning in…

Oops never got around to posting this… 

I’m reading my first book since February!!!  But I sure picked a good one.  Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg is such an empowering book, and I think both women and men should read it (Sam agrees!).

Some quotes I liked:

“The promise of equality is not the same as true equality.  A truly equal world would be one where women ran half our countries and companies and men ran half our homes.”

“We hold ourselves back in ways both big and small, by lacking self-confidence, by not raising our hands, and by pulling back when we should be leaning in.  We internalize the negative messages we get throughout our lives — the messages that say it’s wrong to be outspoken, aggressive, more powerful than men.  We lower our own expectations of what we can achieve.  We continue to do the majority of the housework and childcare.  We compromise our career goals to make room for partners and children who may not exist yet.”

“A 2011 McKinsey report noted that men are promoted based on potential, while women are promoted based on past accomplishments.”

“And while I believe that increasing the number of women in power is a necessary element of true equality, I do not believe that there is one definition of success or happiness.  Not all women want careers.  Not all women want children.  Not all women want both.  I would never advocate that we should all have the same objectives.”

One thought on “We pull back when we should be leaning in…

  1. I am considering reading this.

    At my old job someone once told me that I’m a “strong willed woman” which I took as a nice compliment…even though they meant it as an insult. What. Ev.

Leave a Reply

