5 Month and 31 Month Update

This has been a great month for us!  Baby J is developing at lightning speed and it’s mind-boggling to me that I’ve had him for almost half a year now.  Can’t believe it’s AUGUST!  What in the world…

J-July-001

JAREN

We decided to shave his hair because it was falling out anyway and he was getting random bald patches, plus summer’s here and we thought he’d enjoy the nice breeze through his little bald head!

Sleep: Jaren is STTN most nights from 8 pm – 6 am.  We haven’t really sleep trained him unless you count letting him fuss for 15-20 minutes a couple times, but he has never reached the full on bawling point.  He somehow just ends up falling asleep.  His naps have also consolidated, and on most days we get two 2-hour naps and one shorter catnap.  I make sure he never sleeps past 5 pm (and that’s really pushing it) in order to preserve his nighttime sleep.

Eating: He’s still exclusively on breastmilk, either directly from me or from bottles.

J-bumbothighs

Thunder thighs

Development: He learned to roll over one way at 21 weeks, he can sit up with assistance, and he’s sleeping through the night.  He also rocks back and forth on his tummy trying so so desperately to crawl, but he just ends up looking like a fish out of water flopping around.  He’ll get it soon enough, but he sure is an active little fella.  He also seems to respond when we talk to him – he pauses at all the right moments, and makes babble noises at the appropriate times.  I love conversing with him.  Lots of great things happened this month, and I can now say with confidence that we’re officially out of the “4th trimester”!!  This is where the fun really begins!

Not looking forward to: Starting solids.  When I was a first time mom I couldn’t wait to play around with solids, but now that I’ve “been there done that” it’s not something I’m looking forward to.  It’s just another thing to add to my laundry list of things to do.  File this one under “lazy 2nd time mom”.  A diet consisting of only breastmilk is just so easy.  We plan to do a combination of purees and BLW.

J-July-002 (1)

NOELLE

This little girl is a fireball of energy.  After she turned the 2 1/2 year mark it’s like a flip switched and she is more outgoing, social, and interactive than I’ve ever seen her.  I’ve witnessed her playing with other kids rather than just side by side, and it warms my heart.  There’s actual interaction and communication going on, and they’re taking it to the next level!  I look at Jaren, then look back at Noelle, and can’t believe how much can change in 2 year’s time.

I had a lot of fears entering toddlerhood, but so far I’m loving it.  She’s also become quite the fearless lil’ one – climbing everything like a pro, sliding down big slides without hesitation, and going up to random toddlers waving “hi hi hi!!!!” – I mean, who is this girl?!  I can hardly believe it’s her on some days.

N-split

Climbing like a pro and building a tower as high as it can go..

Every stage has its pros and cons, but I can honestly say that this is my absolute favorite stage so far.  Who woulda thunk?!  She’s becoming a little person before my eyes and it’s fascinating watching her personality take shape.  Toddlers are like sponges, and I love seeing the world through their eyes.  Everything is fresh and new.  Nothing is ordinary.  As she becomes increasingly more independent, she wants to do everything on her own.  From cleaning out her own stand alone potty, to washing and wiping her own hands, to cleaning up her own messes, she insists on doing it all.  Sometimes I have to make a huge effort to put on a straight face as I try to take her seriously, but I do what I can.

Some obligatory brother/sister pictures –

NJ-holdinghands

She wanted to hold her brother’s hand the entire stroll home…

NJ-kisslaughs

A kiss, some laughs, and a whole lot o’ love!

From our family to yours… ’til the next update!

family

3 thoughts on “5 Month and 31 Month Update

Leave a Reply

