4 Month and 2 1/2 Year Update

JAREN

Noelle brought home a cold this month, so Jaren caught his 2nd cold in his short 4 months of life.  The cold coincided with his 4 month well check, so I decided to push out the appointment since I didn’t want him vaccinated while still sick.  These stats came in about 2 weeks after his 4 month birthday at 19 weeks 3 days.

Stats (based off WHO growth charts) —
Weight: 19 lbs, 7.5 oz (98th percentile)
Height: 27.4 inches (98th percentile)
Head circumference: 17 inches (90th percentile)

Needless to say, we have a giant baby on our hands:

J-4months

“I’m too sexy for my shirt, too sexy…”

Eating – he’s still EBF, and feeds about every 3 hours, for a total of about 6-7 times a day.  Since I go into the office 2x a week, he gets bottles on those days.  Some days he will fuss and cry and fight the bottle, and it takes him hours just to finish 3 ounces and waits until I come home to eat; other days he gulps down the bottle easily with no problem.  I worry that he will go on a bottle strike, so even when I do work from home, I make sure at least one of his feedings is from a bottle.  When I’m at work, I pump 3x a day.  It is so stressful to expect a baby to jump from bottle to boob at the drop of the hat – to be perfectly honest, I don’t think it’s really fair for us or them.

Sleeping – We went through the 4 month sleep regression this month, and it was not fun!  Our regression started around 3.5 months (16 weeks), and we’re now getting past it a little after the 4 month mark (at 18 weeks).  It lasted about 2 weeks for us.  Prior to the regression, J was sleeping from 8-4 am pretty consistently, but once the regression hit he had a few nights where he was waking up every 2 hours just like his newborn days.  On a more regular basis, he would wake at around 10pm, then again around 4am.  He also napped poorly, and fussed while nursing.  He was always gnawing on his fist and drooling like a waterfall.  Now that we’re past the regression, he’s starting to sleep well again, dropped the 10 pm wakeup, and only waking up once in the middle of the night just like he had been doing.

Teething – It’s begun.  Noelle started teething around this age too and sprouted her first two teeth by 6 months, so it seems he’s following in his big sister’s footsteps.  Hyland’s teething gel helps with the pain, and every once in awhile we’ll give him Infant Tylenol right before bed.  The Winkle and Sophie are his go-to teething toys.

J-June-01

J-June-02

J-June-003

Despite all that’s been going on this month, he is still such a happy baby!  I can’t get over how much he smiles and laughs.  Lately I’ve been putting him in front of the mirror, and he tries to socialize with “the baby in the mirror” (little does he know that it’s his lil’ ol reflection).  He also enjoys a good game of peekaboo and will giggle, coo, and kick up his legs like crazy when we play with him.  He still hasn’t been able to roll over one way yet.

I’m really looking forward to him being able to roll and sit up, and him finding his feet.  I think it’s adorable when babies start playing with their feet.  I love it when their butts are in the air and you get full access to those chubby wubby thighs.

J-14_16wks

J-4-months-3

NOELLE

Our biggest highlight this month is that she’s potty trained!  I will be writing about our experience in a separate post, but I’m so glad we’ve moved past this hurdle.  It was the one thing I was dreading most, but she did it!  So proud of her.  Lately, I’ve been trying to savor each moment with her.  I’ve been getting really sad thinking about how fast she’s growing.  I want time to stand still just for a bit.  I feel like it’s running away from me and I can’t catch up.  I’ve been enjoying just snuggling up with her in front of the TV at the end of the day, helping her with her puzzles, and building fortresses and castles with her out of her blocks.  She asks me to draw her ants, Jaren, flowers, and bears and I happily oblige.  She copies everything I do.  I copy her back.  We laugh.  I stop, I stare.  When did she grow up?  Her smiles kill me; her kisses consume me.

N-June-001

N-30months_park

N-30months3

Every night, at the very end of her bedtime routine, she says, “Mommy loves Noelle.  Daddy loves Noelle.”  I nod my head in agreement, and whisper the words back because I know she needs to hear them.  I sure do, baby girl, I sure do.  You will always be my baby at 2 years, at 5, at 50.

Some of my favorite moments with my kids are when I’m sitting with Jaren, and Noelle will come over to me, squeeze herself into whatever space I have left in my lap, and say, “Your two babies”.  Yes darling, you two will always be my two babies.

N-June-008

N-June-010

2 thoughts on “4 Month and 2 1/2 Year Update

Leave a Reply

