Our Christmas 2011

It’s 2012 and I’m still blogging about Christmas… boy, do I have some catching up to do!  Our first Christmas with Noelle is one I definitely want to remember, so here goes…

We kicked off our Christmas festivities with our church’s annual holiday party.  My friend and I co-planned it and it was a lot of fun.  The 50+ white elephant gift exchange was hilarious.  I thought I had gotten away with taking home the Steve Jobs biography, but alas, a loser took it from me.

Then, the friday before Christmas, our college friends came to town and we went to one of my favorite tapas restaurants.  I love eating family style because you get to try a little bit of everything.  Being an avid yelp reviewer, that gives me a lot more to work with.

Full and happy… except the 2nd one to the left.

We usually celebrate by having a family dinner on Christmas Eve, but this year we didn’t because my sister-in-law had to work (she’s a nurse and works the night shift).  So we didn’t do much on Christmas Eve.

My in-laws bought take out sushi from a Japanese market and that’s pretty much all we did.

… but we woke up bright and early on Christmas Day to…

Drink hot cocoa and open presents!

We bought our daughter a Melissa & Doug Dollhouse.  Here I am helping her tear open her gift.  I don’t think she knew what to make of it, hehe.

Noelle got the most gifts from our family and friends!  She is a blessed little girl!

Then I made brunch for some friends.  We had a morning ‘jama party..

Good thing I wore my fat ‘jamas.  Strawberry Shortbread Cookies, Cranberry Scones, Bacon, Ham & Egg Crepe Squares, Pumpkin French Toast, and Mimosas!  So full.

Noelle was down for her morning nap so we got to watch one of my favorite movies, Inception!

And I recently found out that Titanic is going to be BACK in theaters next year… in 3D and better than ever.  I’m not ashamed to admit that it’s still one of my favorite movies of ALL TIME.  I’ll never let go Jack, I’ll never let go… <let’s go>

Christmas Dinner with the fambam consisted of traditional Korean food.  Korean braised short ribs (galbijjim), fried dumplings (mandoo), sauteed vermicelli noodles (chapchae), and spicy fermented cabbage (kimchi).  I also had to make The Pioneer Woman’s Brussel Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries.

We also managed to squeeze in a family photo by the tree…

What a special, memorable Christmas (and year) this was!

9 thoughts on “Our Christmas 2011

  1. AWWW I love this post! All the pictures are so warm and cozy, I can FEEL the love just by looking at these! 🙂 I love how you’re all in your jammies! That’s the best!! Happy New year!!

  2. hey angela, just saw this on fb. sushi for xmas- genius!!!!!!! kinda way better than turkey, but maybe not better than the rib roast we had. it was pretty poifect. who ended up w/ the steve jobs book? i watched that epi of pioneer woman where she makes the brussels sprouts. 😦
    i think i’ma make gyoza for dinner now after looking at your pics.
    p.s. we put pillows in your old dog house and that was the only way penny would go in there. ha! princess dog!

    • sushi is great for any occasion! though rib roast sounds ahhmaziing… i briefly thought about making it, but then my lazy side kicked in. hehe.

      freaking hogan ended up with the book!! grrr.

      penny is a CUTE name for your puppy! “Princess Penny” has a good ring to it. 🙂 Happy New Years!!

Leave a Reply

