Our Todays.

Did anyone else read the powerful NY Times article that came out earlier this month titled, “Notes from a Dragon Mom”?  It completely shook me up.  I think I read it every day the week it came out… the words were so powerful to me.  I went to bed every night thinking about that mom and her baby boy.  I wondered how I would’ve coped if I were in her shoes.

I would walk through a tunnel of fire if it would save my son. I would take my chances on a stripped battlefield with a sling and a rock à la David and Goliath if it would make a difference. But it won’t. I can roar all I want about the unfairness of this ridiculous disease, but the facts remain. What I can do is protect my son from as much pain as possible, and then finally do the hardest thing of all, a thing most parents will thankfully never have to do: I will love him to the end of his life, and then I will let him go.

Those words.  I couldn’t (err.. can’t) take it.  It was enough to make me run to my daughter and hold onto her with all my might.  She must’ve thought mama had gone cuckoo.  I rocked her and stroked her hair and said a long prayer thanking God for my healthy, beautiful baby girl.

Parenting, I’ve come to understand, is about loving my child today. Now. In fact, for any parent, anywhere, that’s all there is.

It reminded me of the most powerful and beautiful verse in the bible – “[Love] always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.” (1 Corinthians 13:7-8).

Love.  Let’s think about that for a second…

As moms, we get judged/questioned for our choices often, but our biggest critic is probably ourselves.  Meethinks it’s time we give ourselves and each other a break.  At the end of their life, they’re not going to remember if the house was in order or if we fed them organic.  Let it go.  The best bedsheets and most well-crafted toys aren’t going to make all that much of a difference if we weren’t present.  What they will hold onto though, are the hugs, the kisses, the “I love you’s”.  They’re going to look back and remember the time spent and the love poured down.  We do what we can, the best we can, and hopefully when they have children of their own… they will see that our sacrifices were made willingly and out of incredible, intense love.

How would you live if you knew that your days were limited with the person you love most in the world?  What does it mean to live in the present and embrace our todays?

2 thoughts on “Our Todays.

  1. aww what a sweet post. I think about that with my family and loved ones too! And I also think that this world is SUPER critical to mothers/parents and their decisions. I really wish everyone would calm down because there is no way we can all parent the same way to such different children! And you’re right, our parents loved us in their own ways and we (hopefully) felt loved and fulfilled without those fancy toys and methods!

  2. I read that article; and cried. Cried for all the tomorrows that Emily knows she won’t have with her son, and for all the tomorrows the parents in her situation don’t have. I can only pray to God that I won’t be put in that position. i know I don’t have the grace and strength like her.

Leave a Reply

