MOMMMMYY!!!!

My daughter is starting her stranger anxiety phase……… and I have no idea how long it’ll last.  Our pediatrician said it usually starts at 9 months and could last anywhere from a few weeks to several months.

“Don’t worry little one, mama’s right here…”

While it’s sweet and endearing that she always wants me, I’m feeling burned out from the constant holding, coddling, feeding… apparently no one else can soothe her like I can.  I’m the first person she sees in the morning, the last person she wants at night.  Then she wakes up at midnight wanting to play for 1-2 hours.

I know one day I’ll miss this, but not right now.  Nope.  Right now what I want is sleep.

Do you ever feel like you just want a break from mommyhood?  That’s me right now.

There I said it.  I suck.

5 thoughts on “MOMMMMYY!!!!

  1. Yes, I remember Claire’s clingy phase (and her stranger anxiety started at about 8 months and it’s still going strong at 12.5 months!) and I remember feeling worn out and exhausted too. I know everyone says one day we’ll miss them being like this, but I, like you, couldn’t wait for her to grow out of it.

    P.S. — You don’t suck for wanting a break from mommyhood. EVERY mother does at least once in their children’s lives, and it is perfectly normal.

  2. ok first of all noelle is just adorable in this photo (though you may not think so right now)! but Ange, let me tell you, there were many many MANY times i’ve wanted and still want to escape from mommyhood! and i’m not even in the clingy stage yet. i’ve thought many not nice things during those times. I totally understand! we do need breaks! and sleep! i should sleep now too~~gnite…

Leave a Reply

