8-Month Update

I started my full-time job about 3 weeks ago, so blogging has fallen by the wayside.  The question I get asked the most is, “how has it been adjusting to full-time work?  Has it been hard?”.  It wasn’t “hard” per say, but the first week definitely wasn’t easy and I missed her like crazy.  I think about her every minute of my day, and as soon as I’m off I rush home to be with my baby.  Though I’ve found a rhythm and working has brought a good balance to my life.  These days, every minute I get with her is that much more meaningful.

Plus, I get to come home to this greeting every day:

Did you see that initial smile and how she leaped onto her belly towards me?  Makes me feel so special and loved!  It’s our reward for those endless feedings and lack of sleeping.  😀

This month, both S and I were in the bridal party for a wedding in SF, so we left N with my in-laws for 4 days over Labor Day weekend.  It was the longest we’ve left her to date!  Before I had a baby, I didn’t understand when parents would say they missed their children and couldn’t wait to get back to them.  I wondered, “wouldn’t you want some downtime away from your kids??  Isn’t it freeing?”, but now I get it!  I totally get it!

One tough thing about going on a trip without N is that I’m still breastfeeding, so it was a challenge pumping and trying to bring all my milk back with me.  It didn’t help that I brought only a manual hand pump (not to mention I hate pumping).  I dumped the first 6 ounces cuz I had nowhere to store it.  It broke my heart and I couldn’t get myself to do it again.  That stuff is like precious precious gold!!  I was determined to bring every last ounce back with me.  At one point I was sitting on the bathroom floor of a nail salon pumping away cuz I had nowhere else to go.  I even skipped a session or two because of time constraints and I really had nowhere/no time to pump – that made me worry that I was going to lose my supply!  Whew, that was stressful.

Here’s the lovely couple practicing for their big day at a beautiful winery – the bride is a big sass, can ya tell?  😉

Milestones: this has been my favorite month to date, and I have a feeling it’s only going to get better.  She’s so much more independent now.  I can set her on the ground anywhere and watch her as she plays on her own while I sit back and enjoy.  She still likes to be in my arms, but not for very long before she’s off again exploring on her own.  She’s a super fast crawler, but she doesn’t crawl on all fours.  She crawls on her belly with her forearms leading the way – army style!  Check it out:

Her top two teeth are also fully grown in!  So now she has a total of 4 teeth.  Here’s a big smile from my girl:

Playing with grandma…

I managed to come home from work and snap a few photos for this month.  Since it was the end of the day, she was out of it.  Good thing there’s still summer daylight.  Hope I can keep up with the photos as we head into the fall/winter season!

You are so loved Noelle.

7 thoughts on “8-Month Update

  1. ange, been thinking of you! you know i always await noelle’s monthly update post! cant believe she’s crawling now! love how she just uses her arms. strong little one. my fav part is when she stops to touch the corner of the rug. out of all things, it’s the corner that catches her attention. hehehe so cute. i hope to see you guys soon and hope all is well with your new job! xoxo

  2. What a lovely post!! I just love the video of her crawling around. I can’t believe how fast they grow up. Alex was 8 months last week and is just starting to figure out how to crawl. I find it absolutely AMAZING just watching him….

Leave a Reply

