My CSA Loot!

I picked up my very first CSA box from the farm today.  Here’s a glimpse at where I shop:

I usually dart to the quick sale section first before doing the rest of my shopping!  They have tons of good quality produce for cheap!

Anyway, I promised I’d share what goodies I got, so let’s open this baby up and see!

My farm offers CSA boxes in 2 sizes.  You can either get the small $20 box or the large $30 box and choose to get it weekly or bi-weekly.  I decided to start off small, but they gave me quite a bit more than I expected!

All this for $20:

  • 1 bunch of kale – I was hoping for this!  I already used it to make more Massaged Kale Salad.
  • 1 bunch of green beans – will season and roast in oven.
  • 1 head of butter lettuce – don’t know what to do with this yet… any suggestions?
  • 1 cantaloupe – cut and eat.
  • 6 oranges – eat as is.
  • 12 medium carrots – use for baby puree.  my daughter loooves her carrots.
  • 5 medium tomatoes – make tomato, onion, and cucumber salad.
  • 5 cucumbers – same as ^
  • 4 ears of corn – roast it.
Though I feel I got my money’s worth, I’m kind of disappointed that all the produce are very “normal”.  I was really hoping for some fresh beets or something more unique that would force me to think outside the box.  Either way, I’m looking forward to adding more locally grown, seasonal produce to my diet.  The funnest part is anticipating what’s in the box each week – like unwrapping a Christmas gift… or finding out the gender of your unborn child!
Leave a Reply

