All Hail Kale!

In my last post, I mentioned that I wanted to eat more nutrient-rich foods.  One of the first things I wanted to tackle was Kale – I was always given the impression that it is THE ultimate superfood.  Too bad my first experience with kale was so horrible that I refused to eat it for years to come!  I thought it was bitter, rough, and it initiated my gagging reflex.  I could barely swallow it down.  *Shiver*.

The first time I ENJOYED Kale was actually just this year.  I was eating lunch with two friends at Veggie Grill, and they both ordered the “All Hail Kalesalad, insisting that it was the best thing on the menu.  I was skeptical, but decided to take a risk.  It was DIVINE.  I found myself actually enjoying the texture of the curly leaves, and they weren’t tough or chewy like kale I’ve had in the past.

Like a woman on a mission, I went to my local farm and picked up a beautiful bundle of Kale!  I looked up a recipe online and found a highly rated one by Aarti (do any of you watch The Next Food Network Star?  I was rooting for her all the way!).

Massaged Kale Salad

This was actually my 2nd time making it within a week.  The first time I made it, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly because I didn’t have a few ingredients on hand.  Instead of pumpkin seeds and mangoes I used walnuts and peaches.  I actually preferred it the first time around… I wasn’t a huge fan of the pumpkin seeds.  Other than that, this is one tasty salad – I almost ate the whole thing in one sitting by myself!

This recipe is so versatile you can pretty much substitute any variation of fruit/nut and it’d work.  The massaging of the kale is the KEY step because it helps break down the toughness of the fibers and cuts kale’s natural bitterness.  I bought more Kale today so I can make it again!  I’m the type of person that goes through “food phases” so I can eat the same thing over and over for a long time before I get sick of it and move onto the next great eat.  YUM!

Recipe: Massaged Kale Salad by Aarti

4 thoughts on “All Hail Kale!

  1. Pingback: My CSA Loot! – BabyChin

  2. Pingback: My CSA Loot! | Jaren and Noelle

Leave a Reply

