Day 08 | A Picture of Someone who’s gotten you through the Most

Here’s Helen and me dressed up for Halloween a few years ago.  Our friends and I didn’t trick-or-treat that year nor did we get a chance to pass out any candy because no kids showed up at our doorstep!  However, we had sooo much fun just being dressed up in costume, playing boardgames, while playing Forgetting Sarah Marshall in the background.  Good times!

I’ve known Helen since my Sophomore year in college, so about 9 years now.  We met through our church’s college ministry and got really close when she helped me co-lead a small group.  I don’t even know where or how to begin to write about the things she’s gotten me through.  Let’s just say there were moments of self-realization, doubt, and darkness… and she was there and still is here.  I’ve never once felt judged by her.  I’ve never once felt I couldn’t share with her anything.  You know how sometimes you try to share with someone and you end up feeling even more alone than ever because they still didn’t “get you”?  Nope, never felt that with her.

I’ve never once shared a blessing and felt she couldn’t be happy for me.  In fact, every good thing that happened to me I knew that she was just as happy if not happier – it was like the good things that happened to me happened to her too!  I truly feel that she is my kindred spirit and soulmate.  She knows my soul, my heart, my desires, my passions, my weaknesses, my fears… inside and out she knows it all…

When others didn’t know what to say or what questions to ask, she did.  When I was getting spiritually sidetracked or trapped in my own thoughts, she helped me redirect my steps.

I really feel like I have blinders on when it comes to her because in her, I see no weakness.

“And it came to pass, when he had made an end of speaking unto Saul, that the soul of Jonathan was knit with the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul – 1 Samuel 18:1

3 thoughts on “Day 08 | A Picture of Someone who’s gotten you through the Most

Leave a Reply

