Most Useful Baby Products (so far)

When I was pregnant, I didn’t know what we would need/not need, so I registered for everything “just in case”.  Now that our daughter is 2 months old, I see that there were plenty of things I didn’t really “need”.  I want to list out the essential products that proved very useful to me during the first newborn months.  Hopefully this list will be helpful to someone out there!

  1. The Woombie – we had several swaddles given to us as hand-me-downs, but I read about the woombie and decided to see if it would work better since our feisty daughter always seemed to be able to wriggle her hands out of her swaddle.  It works so much better for us!  The zipper is designed in a way where your child can still have her upper body swaddled and you only have to unzip the bottom portion to change her diaper (genius!).
  2. Summer Infant Day and Night Monitor – this monitor seriously added to our piece of mind.
  3. Humidifier – our daughter was a winter baby so the air was extremely dry.  Add that to her already sensitive skin, and the humidifier was a must-have for us!  We got the cute Hello Kitty one.
  4. Sound Machine – most newborns do well with white noise because it imitates the sounds they heard in the womb.  Our friend purchased this for us and we have used it every day all day since the baby was born.  There are different sounds like ocean, heartbeat, twinkle twinkle, rockabye baby.  Her favorite one is “ocean” and it really does help soothe her to sleep.  Once this machine is on, she knows it’s time for bed.
  5. Aden and Anais Swaddle Blankets – these are by far our favorite swaddle blankets!  They’re so big and soft, and come in a variety of really cute designs.  We don’t really use these to swaddle our baby, but when you want to keep her warm in your arms or use to cover your stroller with, these are perfect.
  6. Medela Pump-in-Style – this item was useful to me because I wanted to pump so that my husband would be able to help with the feedings.  It also made it easier for us to go out every once in awhile and have someone else take over a feeding or two.  However, pumps may not be useful to those moms who want to exclusively breastfeed or for those who plan on formula feeding.  This double pump allowed me to be hands-free so it was easy to go on the computer and get things done while the pump did all the work.
  7. Medela Harmony Hand Pump – I got this a little later, but boy was I glad I did!  In the beginning, when I was carrying my baby all the time, I didn’t have a chance to really pump with the electric pump.  Once I got this, I was able to nurse the baby on one breast and extract milk from the other breast.  I used this a lot too whenever my husband and I went out for a couple hours and it will also be great for travel.  It’s way easier to wash and assemble than the Medela Pump-in-Style too.
  8. My Brest Friend Nursing Pillow – I like this soo much more than the ever-so-popular Boppy Pillow.  The Brest Friend is firmer so it supports the baby really well.  I also really like that there’s a clasp that locks it around your waist so the pillow isn’t shifting all the time.
  9. Ergo Carrier – our daughter loved this – whenever we wanted her to sleep we’d put her in the Ergo and she’d knock out.  She hated slings because of the side positioning, but she loved being up and down and close to her mama’s chest.
  10. Ergo Heart-to-Heart Insert – if you want to use the Ergo with your newborn you’ll need this for head support.

Smaller Ticket Items

  1. Baby Nail Clippers – babies come out of the womb with SHARP nails!  These Safety First ones worked great for us.
  2. Nursing Pads – you’ll leak.  I’ve tried the Medela and Nuk ones, but my favorite were the Lansinoh ones.
  3. Baby Hangers – if you have the closet space, these are really helpful for organizing your baby’s clothes.

Next Post: “Unnecessary Baby Products!”  I love how the baby industry thrives on the naivete of new, scared, first-time parents… don’t you?

2 thoughts on “Most Useful Baby Products (so far)

  1. You don’t know how much this helps me! I love that I have moms going before me that I can learn from. I’d like to consider myself a minimalist, so I’m definitely taking notes on how to cut down the baby gear. Looking forward to the “unnecessary baby products” post.

Leave a Reply

