1-Month Update

*This has been sitting in my drafts for weeks!  Here’s the long overdue 1-month update…

I can’t believe a month has passed already!  It’s been a big blur – everything feels like it went by so fast, but at the same time it feels like the longest month ever – if that makes any sense.  We are definitely two sleep-deprived parents and at times more confused than ever about how to care for our baby.

One of our biggest worries this month was Baby Acne.  Not all babies are born with picture perfect, flawless skin!  Baby acne is caused by the hormones that were floating around in my womb.  The baby acne wasn’t that pronounced at birth, but it got worse and worse as she hit the 2-3 week mark so we started really worrying.

We went to the Pediatrician’s for her one-month check-up this past Monday (Jan 31), and she informed us that most of the red rashes wasn’t baby acne, but it was eczema!  She was pretty certain that it was caused by our detergent.  We have been washing all the baby clothes in Dreft and Tide Free, but realized that my husband’s clothes and our bedsheets had been washed with regular Tide.  We went home and re-washed everything that our daughter might come in contact with, and already her skin is clearing up!  Whew.  It is so painful to see your own baby suffer through red, dry patches and flakey skin on top of little baby pimples.  Good thing the eczema and baby acne isn’t permanent and pretty common in newborns.

At the check-up, Noelle also weighed in at 9 pounds 7 ounces and measured 22 inches in height!  So she’s in the 75th percentile for both weight and height.  And here I was worrying that my milk supply might not be enough for her.  I’m grateful that nursing hasn’t been a challenge for me because I don’t know what I would do if I had to deal with that on top of all the other challenges of new parenthood.

Having my MIL come during the day to help with meals has also been a big load off our shoulders.  We haven’t had to worry about prepping meals, washing dishes, or doing laundry.  Not having to stress about these things makes a big difference!!  Prior to having a baby, I never really thought about how hard simple tasks like washing your face, brushing your teeth, or eating breakfast would be with a baby in one arm!

We’re enjoying Noelle so much, it’s already evident that she is going to be quite the active little bundle.  Here she is at the end of Month 1…

Noelle Olivia | 9 lbs 7 oz | 22 inches

2 thoughts on “1-Month Update

  1. Yay! pics of Noelle! She looks so cute here with her little hands on her face! Glad to hear that her eczema is going away. And btw, you seem like such a great mom from the start. i must learn the ways. post more pics please! 🙂

  2. I’m taking notes from you! Didn’t even cross my mind to get different detergent when I have my little one. She is just so sweet. Glad that you figured out the culprit and her eczema is going away.

Leave a Reply

