Week 37 – Full Term!

Full term means that our baby would no longer be considered a “preemie” (premature baby) if she were born this week.  What a blessing and miracle that she’s made it this far!  Most first time pregnancies go past their due date though – I wonder if that’ll be the case with me.

Nothing too exciting to report on my end except all I feel like doing all day every day is nap nap nap.  The hormones are sapping all my energy and some days I feel like a narcoleptic.  On Christmas Eve, my husband and I actually slept at 9pm when we had every reason to stay up late!  What old fogies we are.

I’ve been busy “nesting” though.  This includes rearranging cabinets, cleaning out closets, breaking down boxes and making space in our garage, reading up on pregnancy literature, and giving the house an overall scrubdown.

Some other items on our Third-Trimester to-do list:

  • Install infant carseat
  • Get infant carseat checked.  4 out of 5 parents install it wrong.  That’s uh… a bad statistic.  We went to the police station (FAIL – apparently you have to make an advanced appointment), then we went to AAA (FAIL – they don’t check carseats).  What next???
  • Pack for the hospital
  • Register at the hospital
  • Finish up our last Bradley class
  • Wash baby clothes, blankets, and linen
  • Choose a pediatrician – I have a list from of recs from my obgyn.  Time to make some phone calls.
  • Get carpet cleaned – Scheduled this for the first week of January.
  • Get vent ducts cleaned
  • Put up our Winnie the Pooh wallpaper border in the nursery.
  • Get  a prenatal massage – my sis gave me a gift card like 5 years ago to Glen Ivy that I never used!  Now’s the time… good thing gift cards can’t expire in CA.

To help me figure out where to begin when it comes to cleaning house, my intense scheduling side took over and I created a calendar to help me allot my time accordingly.  I’ll be cleaning windows one day, cleaning bathrooms the next day, and reorganizing rooms on another day.  I’m such a checklist person and love making sure things get checked off my to-do list!  Am I crazy?

Week 37 Day 6

Weighing in at: 147 lbs.  Belly Size: 40 inches

How Baby is Growing:

  • Your baby is now considered “full term,” even though your due date is three weeks away.
  • If you go into labor now, his lungs will likely be mature enough to fully adjust to life outside the womb.
  • Your baby weighs 6 1/3 pounds and measures a bit over 19 inches, head to heel (like a stalk of a swiss chard).
  • Many babies have a full head of hair at birth, with locks from 1/2 inch to 1 1/2 inches long.

How Mama is Doing:

  • Braxton Hicks contractions may be coming more frequently now and may last longer and be more uncomfortable.
  • You might also notice an increase in vaginal discharge.
  • If you see some “bloody show” (mucus tinged with a tiny amount of blood) in the toilet or in your undies, labor is probably a few days away — or less.
  • It may be harder than ever to get comfortable enough to sleep well at night. If you can, take it easy through the day — this may be your last chance to do so for quite a while.
  • Keep monitoring your baby’s movements, too, and let your caregiver know immediately if you notice a decrease. Though her quarters are getting cozy, she should still be as active as before.
  • While you’re sleeping, you’re likely to have some intense dreams. Anxiety both about labor and about becoming a parent can fuel a lot of strange flights of unconscious fancy.
Leave a Reply

