The Nursery

It’s about 95% complete now.  When we found out we were having a daughter, I knew I DID NOT want to paint the room pink.  Instead, I considered the more neutral looking sage green, or a more feminine color like purple.  Those also happen to be my two favorite colors so the decision to paint the room purple and add accents of green was really a no brainer.

Here’s a glimpse of your new room Noellie… I hope you like it!

I found the wooden block letters from the Etsy vendor, PoshDots.  I really loved all her beautiful and creative handcrafted designs.  I know the blocks aren’t a necessity, but they do give the room some character.  I’m allowed to spoil my first kid a little, aren’t I?  😉

The green rug is from JC Penney.  I read that it’s good to have a rug in the nursery in case the baby accidentally spits up or something on the floor.  It’s much easier to replace a cheap rug than it is to redo your carpet or live with an ugly stain.

The dresser is from IKEA.  We decided we didn’t need a changing table.  Instead, we just placed a changing bed on top of the dresser.  It just seemed like a more a practical option.  You can use a dresser forever, but how long will you really need a changing table for?  We got our changing bed from a friend, but several different ones with excellent reviews can be found on Amazon.

The crib is the Graco Victoria 5-in-1 Convertible Crib purchased off of Amazon.  We chose this crib because it can easily turn into a full-sized toddler bed.  That way we’ll be able to use it for at least 4 more years.

We got the Colgate Classica I Foam Mattress to go along with it.  It came highly recommended in my Baby Bargains book.  I wanted a firm foam mattress (instead of a coil one), and this one fit the bill.  It is on the firmer side compared to other mattresses though.  Hopefully Baby Noellie sleeps well on it.

I’ve been debating back and forth about the need for a bassinet, but I really didn’t want to spend money on a piece of furniture I’d only be using for the first 3 months.  The pros about having a bassinet is that it doesn’t take up much space, you can have the baby sleep right next to you, and you won’t constantly have to get up and go to another room for those many late-night feedings.  I even considered using an empty dresser drawer, lining it with soft blankets, and placing the baby in there as a makeshift bassinet!  Luckily I won’t need to resort to that because a friend generously offered me her bassinet so I’ll get one for free.

We’ve been so blessed by the generosity of friends through this process.  We know Noelle will be in good hands because she is going to have the most amazing community of Auntie and Uncles watching and praying over her.  She is already so blessed with many prayers near and far, and with parents who are madly in love with her.

2 thoughts on “The Nursery

Leave a Reply

