Week 28 – The Third Trimester

I’m officially entering my third trimester… that means I’m 7 months pregnant, with 3 more to go.  I think I mentioned this before, but the common misconception is that pregnancy is only 9 months when it is technically 10 months.

Went in for my OBGYN check-up this week and he congratulated me on graduating to the Third Trimester.  Starting from this point forward, it’s back to two week visits again.  Then as the due date gets closer, it’ll whittle down to one week increments.  This past visit, the doc gave me a worksheet to keep track of fetal kick counts daily.  They say an active baby is a healthy baby!

How to count fetal kicks:

  • Count the time it takes for baby to make 10 kicks (movements) which includes kicks, turns, twists, swishes, rolls and jabs.  Your baby should move 10 times in less than 2 hours.
  • Select a time when your baby is most active and do the kick count around the same time every day.  Baby N is most active at night when mommy’s about to sleep!  So last night I started counting her kicks around 11pm.  Luckily she was a wild child and kicked 10 times in less than 10 minutes.
  • If NO movement is felt during the initial 2 hours, contact your physician immediately!

Most of Baby N’s kicks are on my right side, and sometimes she kicks so hard that you can see the movement of her feet through my skin.  It’s so neat to watch.  My next OBGYN visit on November 11th will be for another ultrasound, so my husband will be coming with me to that one.  I’ll finally get to see Baby N’s little face and fingers and toes again… I can’t wait!

As for third trimester symptoms, I experienced my first major bout of insomnia on Tuesday.  I tossed and turned until 5am, finally fell asleep, only to wake up at 8am.  3 hours of sleep screwed me over for the rest of the week.  I don’t know how people deal with insomnia on a regular basis, I think I would go crazy.  I’m grateful that this pregnancy has been smooth sailing for the most part, but even I’m ready for it to be over and done with.  I want to get back to my normal activities again – I want to run, I want to be able to walk without pelvic aches, and I want to sleep on my back again.  I want to eat sushi and oysters and rare steak.  I want to drink diet sodas and grab a latte whenever my heart desires.

The upside though is the incredible kindness of strangers.  I’m constantly engaging in random conversations these days because even strangers are curious about my state of being.  Even my professors seem concerned about me and try to make sure I’m not standing for too long.  When I walk across streets, cars slow to a crawl and even my dogs seem to know that there’s a baby inside me.  These little things make me feel like quite the special woman.  I suppose I should enjoy it while it lasts!

Week 28 Day 6
(According to my new Android app – “Mom 2 Be”)

Please excuse the PJ pants.  I just rolled out of bed from a nap when S snapped this.  I’ve been needing small, daily cat naps because I’m so tired all the time this week.

Anyway, I’m so looking forward to this weekend because my husband and I will be celebrating our one year wedding anniversary in Pasadena while the rest of the world is celebrating Halloween!  We’re celebrating a few weeks earlier because we’ll be in Seattle with friends on our actual anniversary weekend.  We booked the same hotel we stayed at for our wedding night and are going to explore the surrounding areas such as The Huntington Gardens and Griffith Observatory.  Sometimes just staying at a hotel makes us feel like we’re at a faraway place, even when it’s really just our own backyard.  As long as I’m with my husband, I am happy.  Cheers to an incredible first year of marriage!  I couldn’t have asked for better.

How Baby is Growing:


  • This week, baby weighs two and a quarter pounds and measures 14.8 inches from the top of her head to her heels.
  • She can now blink her eyes, which now sport lashes.
  • If you could sneak a peak at your baby this week, you might be able to determine the color of her eyes.
  • With her eyesight developing, she may be able to see the light that filters in through your womb.
  • Your baby’s brain is is continuing to develop and expanding rapidly.
  • Your baby is continuing to accumulate layers of fat underneath the skin.
  • She’s now sleeping and waking on a regular schedule.  But this schedule isn’t like that of an adult or even a newborn.
  • At this size, your baby probably sleeps for only 20-30 minutes at a time.
One thought on “Week 28 – The Third Trimester

Leave a Reply

