Week 27 – Enjoying the Weather

Its been raining all week and I looooove it.  Pitter patter pitter patter… those sounds are so relaxing, especially when I’m indoors and now that my home office is all set up.  I have this nice big desk right next to a window where I can lay out all my books, notes, computer and study away.  S and I have been busy buying furniture for the nursery and throwing out a lot of junk (S is a sentimental packrat).  We got some really cute hand-me-down clothes from a friend too, along with her old glider!

Glucose Screening Update: After the screening, I got a call from the Lab a few days later, apologizing.  Why?  They messed up on my blood test and glucose screening results so I had to go back in and redo it.  So I went directly to the lab and did the whole test over again.  I haven’t heard anything from my obgyn since, so I’m assuming I’m in the clear for gestational diabetes.  They said they’d only call if something was off.

How I’m Feeling: It’s getting increasingly difficult to do things.  However, being the independent woman I am, my first reaction is to attempt to do things on my own, at the big disapproval of S.  I’ll randomly try to take out the heavy trash or lift boxes or even push around furniture and he’ll run over and say, “let a man do his job!”.  But that’s why he married me in the first place!  For my independence and spunk!  So there.

Simple tasks like putting on my socks and shoes are some of the most difficult things for me now.  I now have to sit down and lift my leg up and it’s sooo hard to reach my toes!  I can’t bend from my waist anymore without discomfort.  The bloated feeling is also starting to creep in, to my dismay.  Indigestion is a problem too – if I eat too much at once I get heartburn and tummy aches.  I have to eat in little increments throughout the day.  I haven’t been having too much trouble sleeping yet though.  In fact, I’m sleeping really well – deeply and through the night!  We’ll see how that changes once I officially enter my third trimester (which is next week, I can’t believe it!).

Confession: I did something kinda silly this week, but I don’t think those who really know me would be that surprised.  Here goes – I created a gmail address AND a facebook account for our unborn daughter.  To say that I’m a planner is a bit of an understatement.  😛  Sooo… if you’d like to be friends with her on facebook, let me know haha.

Week 27 Day 5

Weighing in at: 140 lbs.  Belly Size: 37.2 inches

My belly looks like a torpedo, it just juts straight out!  They say that some women have “wraparound bellies” where their bellies grow in width, but my belly is definitely more on the pointy side.  Hard to believe that I’m only going to get bigger and still have 3 more months left of this!

How Baby is Growing:


  • She is as big as a cauliflower, weighs almost 2 pounds and is about 14 1/2 inches long with her legs extended.
  • She’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing her eyes, and perhaps even sucking her fingers.
  • With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now.
  • While her lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if she were to be born now.
  • Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother her, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.

How Mama is Doing:

  • The second trimester is drawing to a close, but as your body gears up for the final lap, you may start noticing some new symptoms.
  • Along with an aching back, you may find your leg muscles cramp up now and again from all the extra weight you’re carrying.
  • Your expanding uterus is putting pressure on the veins that return blood from your legs to your heart as well as on the nerves leading from your trunk to your legs. Unfortunately, the cramps may get worse as your pregnancy progresses.  So far, no leg cramps (let’s hope I never get them!)
2 thoughts on “Week 27 – Enjoying the Weather

Leave a Reply

