Week 22 – Sicko

This past week has been rough because I caught my husband’s cold.  I even slept in a separate room for an entire week in my attempt to avoid the cold, but it didn’t work.  The worst was the congestion because my clogged, runny sinuses gave me really bad headaches that I couldn’t remedy with aspirin.  After a week and a half, the cold is finally going away, thank goodness!

I’m also hot all the time these days (a symptom common to pregnant women), even when it’s a perfect 75 degrees outside!  I’m looking forward to a wintertime Third Trimester because I do so much better with cold than hot weather.  I’ve also been grateful for a relatively cool California summer this year.  The weather in California has been absolutely gorgeous this whole year.

Anyway, did you know that there’s such a thing as Prenatal Acupuncture?  And depending on your insurance, it’s even fully covered!  I made an initial free consult with Ryoko at Family Wellness Acupuncture for next Wednesday.  I’m a lover of acupuncture and strong believer in alternative medicine (brainwashed by my mom who made me drink those nasty Chinese black herbal drinks throughout my childhood).  Not only does it feel really good when those thin needles hit your nerves, but acupuncture has always worked for me in the past whenever I came down with severe fevers or other bodily ailments.

You can read more about the Benefits of Prenatal Acupuncture here.  If I like what I see/hear next week, I’ll think about getting regular treatments starting the beginning of my third trimester.

Week 22 Day 5

Weighing in at: 136.5 lbs.  Belly Size: 35.3 inches

How Baby is Growing:

Note: I’m confused why The Bump labels Weeks 22-25 as Month 5 (as seen in the Papaya pic).  If you do the calculation, isn’t it technically Month 6?  Can someone clear up my confusion?  Also, I read that pregnancy is really 10 months… not the commonly mistaken 9 months.  It makes sense because a pregnancy is counted by weeks… and a full pregnancy is 40 weeks = 10 months.

  • At 11 inches and almost 1 pound, your baby is starting to look like a miniature newborn.
  • Her lips, eyelids, and eyebrows are becoming more distinct.
  • She’s even developing tiny tooth buds beneath her gums.
  • Her eyes have formed, but her irises (the colored part of the eye) still lack pigment.
  • If you could see inside your womb, you’d be able to spot the fine hair (lanugo) that covers her body and the deep wrinkles on her skin, which she’ll sport until she adds a padding of fat to fill them in.
  • Her pancreas — essential for the production of some important hormones — is developing steadily.
Leave a Reply

