Our Birth Plan

There were a lot of things I didn’t know about pregnancy and labor until I got knocked up, like having a Birth Plan!  I really thought you just go to the hospital as soon as you enter labor and the doctors do their thing.  Now I know that something as important as birth requires planning and foresight.  People create birth plans because when you’re distressed and frazzled during the day of labor, you forget certain things and doctors forget too.

Here’s our current birth plan:

Are/were you clueless about birth plans like me?  Did you have a birth plan prior to giving birth?

4 thoughts on “Our Birth Plan

  1. Love it! Looks great! Here’s some additions to consider (copied directly from my friend’s birth plan)

    CONTIGENCY PLANS

    CESAREAN DELIVERY

    • Please keep communication open. If at all possible, please wait for my express consent, or that of my husband, before initiating any procedure.

    • It is important to me that my husband be present with me at all times during the birth.

    • Ideally, I would like to remain awake and aware, avoiding general anesthesia if possible.

    • Prefer regional anesthesia with little or no premedication or discuss further anesthesia options with me.

    • We prefer that the anesthesia take effect before the catheter is inserted and that there are no “hot spots” (areas which are not yet numb) before the surgery begins.

    • Prefer to have the obstetrician explain events as they occur.

    • Please use a low-transverse incision on my uterus and abdomen.

    • Please leave at least one of my hands free so I may touch our baby when he or she is born.

    • Assuming the baby is well, I would like to hold our baby on my chest.

    • Breastfeeding as soon as possible.

    • We would like the baby’s health to be judged on its own merits – no special nursery care unless necessary.

    • Please remove my IV and catheter as soon as possible following our baby’s birth.

    • Please provide me with nutritious food and drink as soon as possible.

    PREMATURE BIRTH/ILL BABY

    If our baby is not well, we would like to:

    • accompany my baby, or have the father accompany our baby, if transported to another facility.

    • breastfeed exclusively, or provide my expressed milk for our baby.

    • have unlimited visitation.

    • hold, rock and care for our baby, if possible.

    • visit NICU as much as possible.

    • have all procedures explained before/as they are performed as our baby’s condition permits.

  2. Hi, my name is Jen and I’m in a Growth Group through my church with Lisa-Anne, who gave me your blog address. It seems as if we have many things in common! I have a few comments:
    – We have similar due dates! I’m due Jan 24th-ish, 2011
    – I’m having a girl too (my first child)
    – I also plan to have a natural childbirth. I don’t actually have a birth plan written up yet, but do plan on it. We are trying to do some major preparation for having a natural childbirth, rather than just declare that we want one. Two books I recommend are “Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth” and Dr. Bradley’s book “Husband-Coached Childbirth”. They teach you how view your body and trust it knows how to give birth, but also to prepare by doing exercises, etc. Also HUGE was our decision to use midwives but in the hospital. (See below for some pasted text about my general plan.)
    – My husband likes to talk to the baby too, and it’s super adorable. 🙂
    – Wow, your pictures look GREAT! How do you get such great shots!? We’ve been taking pics about once a week pretty much ever since we learned I was pregnant, but I wear the same pants and a sports bra and I always put my arms above my head for a clear shot of the belly… and it’s not super attractive… 🙂 I like that you wear clothes and have such great lighting. Any tips on how to get that look?


    So here’s my plan:
    * Research and use health-care provider and hospital that I have heard many good things about and can trust (El Camino Hospital, AOMG midwives).
    * Have wonderful husband and supportive mother in birthing room with me.
    * Consider hiring doula as well (I’m leaning towards it).

    * Educate myself about birth by reading online and talking to friends. Read books like “Husband-Coached Childbirth” by Bradley WITH my husband.
    * Do prenatal exercises to strengthen key muscles involved. Do aerobic activities (while not over-exerting) and eat healthily, take pre-natal vitamins. (Analogy: if you learned that in 6 months you were going to run a marathon, you’d prepare for it now, right? Same with birth.)
    * Not have expectations that are so set that if it turns out I need to have a C-section or something, I will be crushed. Generally trust that by the end, no matter how it goes, I’m gonna have a wonderful little miracle in my arms that is half me and half my husband!
    * Not listen to horror stories about births that might scare me, but trust that my body will know how to do it.
    * Take a number of child-birth (AND Breastfeeding) classes ahead of time, so that I’m not surprise when things happen, and I am prepared.
    * Trust God! No matter what happens, good or bad or ugly, He’ll be there with us!

    • CONGRATS on your pregnancy and upcoming daughter!

      It sounds like you have a great plan and have already done a lot of research. 🙂 I am also trying to keep expectations realistic in case complications occur… you never know what might happen during labor, but we’re hoping for the best.

      My husband takes the photos of me using our SLR camera. We have a plain wall upstairs that gets pretty good lighting, so we always shoot in that same location. Natural sunlight is the best so we try not to shoot at night.

Leave a Reply

