Week 19 – Baby’s 1st Kicks!!

How I’m Feeling this Week:

Emotionally, it’s just been one of those weeks.  This week has been a whirlwind of emotions, so I will blame it on the hormones.  🙂  Did you know the progesterone levels in pregnant women are about 10 times higher than that of non-pregnant women?  Also, only pregnant women produce a hormone called hCG – that’s the hormone pregnancy tests look for to indicate whether a woman is pregnant or not pregnant.

Back to my sensitivity – it’s just one of those weeks where I tire easily and find little things extra irritating.  The heat isn’t my friend either.  I just want to lay here like a beached whale.

To make me feel better, I’ve been doing prenatal yoga.  It’s probably one of the best exercises a pregnant woman can do.  It’s different from regular yoga because it’s more gentle and very sensitive to the positioning of the belly.  You never want to do anything that will cause your back to strain or your belly to be compressed.  Our bradley instructor even told us I’m not allowed to bend over to pick things up anymore.  Speaking of which, we went to our first class yesterday and learned some useful tools and techniques that will help make labor easier for us when the time comes.  I’ll go into more detail in a separate post.

Physically, I’ve been experiencing our baby’s 1st kicks this week!  I’ve been feeling little pulses against my belly all week.  The movements are mainly in my lower right abdomen area.  Last night, as my husband and I were laying in bed, I had him place his hand over my belly and he was able to feel the kicks too.  It was a special moment for him to feel it for the first time.  So exciting!  I read that feeling the baby kick is one of the best things about pregnancy.  It doesn’t hurt at all, and is quite an interesting sensation.   I can’t wait to feel her more in the coming weeks as she gets bigger and her kicks get stronger.  I’m surprised I can already feel her this early on – she is definitely going to be a feisty one.

Week 19 Day 5

Weighing in at: 131 lbs.  Belly Size: 33.5 inches

How Baby is Growing

  • Your baby’s sensory development is exploding! Her brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch.
  • Some research suggests that she may be able to hear your voice now, so don’t be shy about reading aloud, talking to her, or singing a happy tune if the mood strikes you.
  • Your baby’s arms and legs are in the right proportions to each other and the rest of her body now.
  • Her kidneys continue to make urine and the hair on her scalp is sprouting. A waxy protective coating called the vernix caseosa is forming on her skin to prevent it from pickling in the amniotic fluid.  The Vernix caseosa is a greasy white substance made of lanugo, oil and dead skin cells (yum) that now coats baby’s skin, shielding it from the amniotic fluid.
3 thoughts on “Week 19 – Baby’s 1st Kicks!!

  1. Speaking of the vernix caseosa, I’ve heard it said from some of my mom friends that it’s good to keep that on the baby for at least the first day or two after birth. A lot of hospitals will clean everything off the baby and give you a nice, clean looking little bundle. However, if you ask them not to wash off the vernix, you will allow it to soak in and protect the skin, protecting your sweet girl from dryness, bacterial infections and of course, allowing her to soak in God’s best moisturizer.

    Something to look into 🙂

    • Yea I first heard about it from you! Haha you know so much about the whole birth process… time to have your own! 😉 I have researched it and hopefully the docs will respect my wishes NOT to bathe our daughter immediately after her birth.

Leave a Reply

