Week 18 – So Joyful. So Grateful.

How I’m Feeling this Week: Feeling so full from His Goodness.  Truly truly thankful for many things.

Physically, I’m feeling full of energy and well rested!  We got 8 hours of sleep almost every night in Hawaii.  Baby didn’t cause any problems during our babymoon this past week – I didn’t even experience the slighest bit of pain in my lower belly.  Baby was a good little traveler, maybe it will enjoy exploration and adventure just like mama.

Expectedly, this babymoon really allowed my husband and I to bond, but I had no idea I would be bonding so much with Baby too.  I kept talking to it, and wondering what was going on in my belly.  I kept asking baby, “are you okay in there?” or “what a trooper you are” whenever we did something strenuous.  Is it silly of me to talk to baby that way?  I actually had a job interview lined up for the day after we came back, but I spent a lot of time reflecting on this trip and it made me realize that I didn’t want to risk not being at home with Baby for the first few months of its life.  It was with a great company, but I’m not sure any job is worth that sacrifice to me.  Yes, we do feel very fortunate that I can choose to not work right now… and hopefully God will provide when the time is right.

Seeing my husband take such good care of me (he always does, but it really felt above and beyond) was the greatest feeling too.  Knowing I’d always be secure and safe with him by my side is truly indescribable – he was always watching out for me, and he did it with so much patience and grace.  Some days I still can’t believe that we’re actually starting our very own family together!  Is this real?  *Pinching myself*

Anyway, back to how baby is doing… because baby is so good and quiet, I do worry and wonder if it’s even still there. I have the occasional freak thought that its little baby heart isn’t beating anymore.  Luckily, we had an OBGYN appointment yesterday, and not only is baby doing more than fine, we finally found out the sex!  I have been dying in anticipation.  I told some friends that it reminded me of getting a one of those cabbage patch dolls that reveal the sex of the baby in an envelope.  Well, we found out yesterday that…

IT’S A BABY GIRL!!!!!  ❤

There was no penis in sight and we saw a pretty empty cavity, so the doc is pretty certain it’s a girl.  However, he wants us to do a thorough 3D ultrasound next week to be 100% sure (we scheduled it for next Tues).  He said the baby is 9 ounces now (bigger than that yam shown below), so technically I should be in Week 19!  Baby is already bigger than the Week 19 average of 8.5 ounces.  I guess that makes sense since I’ve been doing these updates towards the end of each week.  Glad to know baby is thriving and getting big.  During today’s ultrasound, the baby was also moving around A LOT, what a little bundle we have on our hands!  I hope it’s a happy, joyful baby.  We already have a name set and it’s nice to be able to call “it” a “she” now!

My body hasn’t changed much in the last two weeks.  Maybe once I enter the 6th month, more developments will occur.

Week 18 Day 4

Weighing in at: 129.5 lbs. Belly Size: 33.5 inches

BABY CHIN – WEEK 18

How Baby is Growing:

  • Head to rump, baby is about 5 1/2 inches long and weighs almost 7 ounces.
  • Your fetus has become amazingly mobile (at least compared to you), passing the hours yawning, hiccuping, rolling, twisting, kicking, punching, sucking and swallowing.  Baby’s finally big enough that you’ll be able to feel those movements soon.
  • His blood vessels are visible through his thin skin, and his ears are now in their final position, although they’re still standing out from his head a bit.
  • A protective covering of myelin is beginning to form around his nerves, a process that will continue for a year after he’s born.
  • If you’re having a girl, her uterus and fallopian tubes are formed and in place. If you’re having a boy, his genitals are noticeable now, but he may hide them from you during an ultrasound.

How Mama is Doing:

  • Hungry? An increase in appetite is pretty common about now. Make it count by choosing meals and snacks that are rich in nutrients instead of empty calories (chips, French fries, candy, and other sweets).
  • Bigger, more comfortable clothes are a must now as your appetite and waistline grow.
  • Your cardiovascular system is undergoing dramatic changes, and during this trimester your blood pressure will probably be lower than usual. Don’t spring up too fast from a lying or sitting position or you might feel a little dizzy.
  • From now on, when you do lie down, it’s best to lie on your side — or at least partly tilted to one side. (When you lie flat on your back, your uterus can compress a major vein, leading to decreased blood return to your heart.)
Leave a Reply

