Breaking Old Sleeping Habits

I always prided myself on being able to sleep comfortably on my back without any movement – I don’t toss and turn or make any noise.  It’s funny when I scare people with my sleeping habits because 1) I look like a mummy 2) My eyes are half open 3) I wake up like a woman possessed.  Poor husband.

I’ve always heard that sleeping on your back is the BEST position to sleep in!

Why?  Because sleeping on your stomach makes it difficult to breathe and sleeping on your side compresses your organs (in fact, they say sleeping on your LEFT is worse than sleeping on your right).  Read about it here.

Well, all that advice went out the window once I got pregnant!

Guess which position is the best for pregnant women?  Sleeping on your LEFT. Guess which position is the worst?  Sleeping on your BACK.

It’s almost laughable how opposite this all is!  It’s actually very dangerous for a woman past 16 weeks to continue to sleep on her back because it limits blood flow and nutrients from getting to the baby.  Read about it here.

I don’t want to hurt you little one…

I learned about the benefits of side sleeping early on in my pregnancy, and tried to no avail to sleep on my side.  At that point, I didn’t even care which side!  I couldn’t sleep and having my arm under my head bothered me like crazy.

So my very first pregnancy purchase was actually a pregnancy body pillow.

The Snoozer Body Pillow to be exact.

Best investment ever.  My husband was actually the one who suggested I look into it.  How he knew about it when I’d never even heard of it is beyond me!

This thing has worked wonders.  I fall asleep like a precious little baby now.  Yes, precious.

One thought on “Breaking Old Sleeping Habits

  1. HAHA oh my gosh, that IS funny. I sleep on my left all the time! uh oh!! but i guess I’m all prepared for when that day comes huh??

Leave a Reply

