Cheers to New Beginnings! My 2014 Resolutions

new-years-eve

Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness, for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff they comfort me…

This year, my resolutions will cover the mental, physical, spiritual, emotional, and relational.

1. Mental - Focus on living a simpler life geared towards decluttering and minimizing our stuff. At the end of 2013, my husband and I spent a couple hours clearing out our wardrobe and donating several bags of clothes to goodwill.  It felt SO good to get rid of all the stuff that had been sitting there for years collecting dust.  I want to be more conscious of what we buy, and learn to better distinguish between wants vs. needs.  My focus this year is go through one full round of decluttering the whole house, like how she did it.

2. Physical - Exercise fell by the wayside last year when I underestimated how all-consuming it is having to juggle two kids and a full time job.  I’m hoping it’ll be more doable now that both kids are older, but Noelle is still coming into our room in the middle of the night to sleep in with us until morning, so there’s that.  This year, I want to focus on strength – my goal is to do strength training for 45 min 2x a week.  Doesn’t sound like much, but trying to be realistic here!

3. Spiritual – I’ve been on autopilot in this department for too long, and something needs to change.  We left our church of 4 years last August.  This year, I’d really like to root ourselves at a church we can connect, serve, and give back to, and to stay rooted in the word daily.

4. Emotional – I feel like I’m perpetually stuck in autopilot mode with my day-to-day life, but I know I need to take some time out of my day to stop, pause, and do some serious self-reflection.  Once again, I am going to make journaling once a week a goal this year.

5.  Relational – This is a hard one for me because it’s way too easy for me to become an island.  Technology (emails, text messages, fb) has made it too easy to keep in touch without face-to-face contact.  I want to work on initiating with people at least once a month (playdates or anything with kids don’t count) to grab coffee, dinner, and just connect.

4 thoughts on “Cheers to New Beginnings! My 2014 Resolutions

  1. i can’t wait to read updates on your resolutions. #1 is of course a favorite! i still haven’t had a chance to even think of mine

    • Of course you’re included silly!! :) Yea, doing same resolutions would be great so we can keep each other accountable! Which ones are you thinking? Looking forward to your post on it!

Leave a Reply

